The Discover Pass allows you to enjoy millions of acres of Washington state-managed recreation lands – including state parks, water-access points, heritage sites, wildlife and natural areas, trails and trailheads. Birch Bay State Park and Peace Arch State Park in Blaine require the Discover Pass.
The Washington State Legislature and Governor created the Discover Pass in 2011 to offset steep reductions in general tax support for parks and other recreation lands and facilities operated by Washington State Parks, the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW) and the Washington State Department of Natural Resources (DNR).
Today, when you buy the Discover Pass, you are helping to keep the state’s wonderful outdoor recreation sites open and accessible to the public.
5105 Helwig Road
Birch Bay, WA 98230
Birch Bay State Park has of saltwater shoreline on Birch Bay and of freshwater shoreline along Terrell Creek. Recreational opportunities include camping, picnicking, fishing, hiking, crabbing, clamming, and boating.
19 A Street
Blaine, WA 98231
Peace Arch Park is an international park consisting of Peace Arch Historical State Park in the United States and Peace Arch Provincial Park in Canada. The park straddles the international boundary between the United States and Canada, where it reaches Semiahmoo Bay of Puget Sound on the continent's Pacific Coast. The park's central feature is the Peace Arch
State Park’s 105th birthday
National Trails Day
National Get Outdoors Day
National Park Service 102nd Birthday
National Public Lands Day
PLEASE NOTE: free days apply only to day use (not overnight stays or rented facilities). A Discover Pass is still required to access lands managed by the Washington state departments of Natural Resources and Fish & Wildlife on these days. Sno-Park permits are still required on free days at designated Sno-Parks during the winter season.
The annual pass — $30. Good for one year from the date of purchase.
Day-use pass — $10. Good for the date marked on the pass.
Transaction fees may apply.
The penalty for not having a Discover Pass is $99. The fine may be reduced to $59 if an individual provides proof of purchase of an annual Discover Pass to the court within 15 days after the notice of violation is written.
If you just want to drive through state recreation lands managed by DNR and WDFW and you do not leave your vehicle, you do not need a pass.
On lands managed by DNR and WDFW, motorcycle riders may carry the pass with them.
At state parks: Use the fee envelope at the self-pay station and write the Discover Pass serial number on the envelope tab. Leave the tab on the motorcycle and place the fee envelope in the self-pay station box. For a day-use pass, insert $10 into the fee envelope and deposit it in the pay station. Leave the tab on the motorcycle.
Online at: https://store.discoverpass.wa.gov/
Automated Pay Stations for visitors to purchase one-day and annual Discover Passes upon arriving at the park. Birch Bay State Park has Automated Pay Stations.In person at several retail locations:
The Discover Pass is a motor vehicle permit only. You do not need the pass to access state recreation lands by boat or by non-motorized means (foot, horse, bicycle, etc.). Motor vehicles used to transport recreation equipment, such as vehicles pulling horse or boat trailers, must display the pass. However, the trailers being towed that are carrying the equipment do not need a Discover Pass. Boaters will still need to pay for such services as moorage and waste-pumping.